Ashbourne is the "Gateway to the Peak District" and this can be appreciated from our 18 hole course. Visitors and Societies are most welcome on all days of the week. Our 18 hole course, which is Par 71, SSS 71, is undulating with spectacular views of Dovedale and the Peak District. The clubhouse has excellent changing rooms with showers, a bar with a large seating area overlooking the course, a dining area and snooker table. We have a well stocked Professional's shop, with leading equipment and clothing at competitive prices.We are situated fifteen minutes from Alton Towers.
Whiston Hall Golf Course is a unique and challenging 18 hole, par 71 course which is 5784 yards in length. When playing the course you will experience many strategically located bunkers, water hazards, semi-rough and dog leg shots. Beautifully and professionally landscaped, the course is set amongst some of the most peaceful and picturesque countryside within the area. We are continually adding and improving the course throughout every year from creating new challenging Teesto adding wooded areas and sculpted semi-rough, which all add to the enjoyment and fulfillment of playing Whiston Hall.
The Heritage Centre aims to give to the casual visitor or serious researcher alike an understanding of the life of a small town from its inception to the present times. It is strategically placed at the end of the Crown Yard which opens out onto the present market place and occupies a building which was once a mill for the production of silk and velvet textiles. The small market town of Wirksworth nestles in the hills to the southern end of the Pennines. The hills to the west are composed of limestone and those to the east are sandstone known locally as millstone grit. These have provided the industry for the town for many years, initially that of lead mining in the limestone and finally the quarrying of both the gritstone and the limestone. To preserve the town's history and present it to interested visitors the local Wirksworth Civic Society set up the Heritage Centre with the aim of providing an interesting presentation in the form of a story of Wirksworth.
The ideal family day out - an intriguing house, an entertaining museum and a restful garden. Home of the Vernon family until gifted to the Trust in 1967, the Hall is an unexpected mixture of architectural styles, with remarkable carvings, plasterwork and painting. Richly decorated, it has a collection of family portraits and a magnificent carved staircase. The formal gardens and meadows lead to the tree-fringed lake. See Queen Adelaide's stately bedroom, Try a cream tea in the tea room, Browse in the gift shop, Walk the fabulous long gallery of more than 138 feet, Walk in the grounds to look for wild life - Sudbury is home to Kestrels, Grey Herons, Grass Snakes, dragon flies, newts, frogs, toads, Little and Tawny Owls and Woodpeckers.
The racecourse was built in 1904 and opened by a company formed to take over the interests and licence of Keele Park racecourse, which had recently ceased to operate. The First World War closed down all racing throughout the country. Racing resumed in 1921. During the Second World War the course was requisitioned by the War Department and no racing took place. The Uttoxeter Urban Council purchased the racecourse and it re-opened on April 12, 1952. With a crowd of 12,000, the meeting was so successful that the organisers were almost overwhelmed. In 1988 Northern Racing acquired the course with Sir Stanley Clarke as Chairman. In the last ten years there has been phenomenal investment in facilities and customer care.
Richard Arkwright and his partners established a mill in Cromford in 1771 and without delay set about perfecting the machinery and production methods for water - powered cotton spinning. The first mill was modest in size, but in 1776 a second and very much larger mill was established using the same water supply. Soon after, the mill site expanded again and massive engineering work was undertaken, to create the system of ponds and underground culverts which maintained Arkwright's increasing need for water to drive his machinery. Cromford mill is now a world heritage site. Restoration of the old mill has been carried out by the Arkwright society which purchased the site in 1979.